Delta NUJ : Ikeogwu Calls For Unity Of Purpose Among Members



The Chairman of the Delta State Council of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Comrade Michael Ikeogwu, has enjoined members of the union in the state to embrace unity of purpose towards taking the union to greater heights in the state and beyond.

Comrade Ikeogwu stated this at the Press Centre of the union in Asaba during the maiden congress of the Council of the NUJ in Delta State after his reelection for a second term.

He said that the union election in the state had come and gone, adding that there was the urgent need to forget about the different groups that produced the new leadership of the council of the NUJ in the state and work as one unified body with love for one another, just as he urged those that lost during the election to join hands with him towards taking the union to greater heights in the state and beyond.

While inaugurating Comrade Polycarp Orosevwotu of the Ughelli Chapel, who emerged as the Financial Secretary of the council through a bye-election, Comrade Ikeogwu said that members should be ethical and decorous in the discharge of their duties as Journalists in the state and beyond, noting that the union would be judged by the conducts of members of the union in the society.

The union leader commended Comrade Churchill Oyowe’s sportsmanship for conceding defeat at the election, adding that such high sense of humility and respect for the electoral process that midwifed the new leadership of the union in the state should be embraced so as to continue to maintain the peace and keep the NUJ on the path to glory in the state and beyond. Two critical committees of the union were also inaugurated during the congress. They were the Ethics and Disciplinary Committee and the Bye-Law Drafting Committee.

The Ethics and Disciplinary Committee would be presided over by Comrade Francis Nwabiani of the Pointer Chapel, while Comrade Sonia Unobunjo of the Delta State Broadcasting Service, Warri would act as Secretary. Other members included Godwin Okoh, Kenneth Obieh and Monday Osayande.

  1. The Bye-Law Drafting Committee had Comrade Akpokona Omafuaire Esq as Chairman. Other members included Charles Nwabardi, Pere Botu, Abel Johngold ORHERUATA and Charles Kosipre.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here